For the Love of Chanel

One of the designer brands that I have always loved since I was a little girl is Chanel. I love the C’s logo, the classic quilted bags and the tweed suits. Theres something that is so traditional and classic about the brand and I love that it always stays true to its roots. Each season the collection developes modern trends whilst still encompassing that essential Chanel flavour. It is my aim in life to own a classic quilted Chanel bag, to me that is the height of sophistication.

   

Don’t you just think they are just divine darling? Unfortunately they cost on average about £2000 so I won’t be wearing one of these on my arm any time soon, but a girl can dream.

The classic black and white Chanel trademark is iconic and I love that it represents the design house whether it is – on Chanel shoes, a bag, Karl Lagerfeld – who mainly wears just black & white or the Chanel store in Paris. It embodies the charm and sophistication of the brand:

  

    

The history of the Designer Couture house lives on from Coco Chanel through Karl Lagerfeld who embodies the image of Chanel and continues to make a success of the brand. I personally love the Chanel tweed short suits which to me are the modern version of the classic Chanel suit.

  

Chanel understands what a woman wants and this is often represented through their advertising which eminate style, glamour, sophistication and quite often romance.

  

Often using actresses and well known models, girls aspire to be like the glamourous women in the adverts.

  

Here is Gossip Girl actress and style icon du jour Blake Lively, the new face of Chanel bags. More than these images Chanel also produces amazing television adverts made as short films which entice the viewer into the world of Chanel. My favourite adverts are: The Chanel no.5 fragrance ad with Nicole Kidman and directed by Baz Luhrman:

http://youtu.be/nfoMbir_Qd4

I also love the Chanel Coco Mademoiselle Keira Knightley advert:

http://youtu.be/Uk5BR9YR6tc

As well as appealing to the masses Chanel is a firm favourite of the stars:

  

Clemence Poesy                           Lily Cooper (nee Allen)             Alexa Chung

   

Nicole Ritchie                                Vanesa Paradis                                Diane Kruger

Personally I love everything that Chanel produces whether it is clothes, accessories or perfume, Chanel can do no wrong. It all embodies the key style of the brand and lets the history of this amazing design house live on. Hope you enjoyed my love of Chanel. XOXO.

26 thoughts on “For the Love of Chanel

  1. You might like the biography called Coco Chanel: The Legend and the Life by Justine Picardie that looks at some of the childhood influences on the designer’s choice of symbols, like the double-C’s.

  2. Yes! Great post.

    I love Chanel but have only recently started to appreciate the 2.55. I hate small chain padded handbags with a passion – too dainty, too small, too grandmotherish… overdone by high street, overdone by Hollywood, overdone by the counterfeiters – sigh! I love a good robust handbag that can be with me all day and not have size restrictions. My number one love is the Damier Azur Neverfull by you-know-who.

    Am trrrrying to love the 2.55, haha. I love a crisp manish tailoring and the 2.55 just doesn’t fit with that look – ironically enough for Miss Chanel.

    But, if I had to choose – I think the blush/rose coloured one is the best!

    • Thanks for the comment! 🙂 I totally agree about the counterfeits and the high street has over done the quilted bag, but I do love the original. I have many different bags used for different things and am a fan of the bigger bag. I think a the black 2.55 may go with some tailoring and give the mannish style a feminine edge XOXO.

  3. I adore the 2.55 and bought the black one myself after spending an entire summer working (very!) hard in a basement (wow, that sounds weird – it was for a BOOKSTORE, no creepy stuff haha). It is my gold piece of all the accessories I own, yet I tend to leave it at home, because it is just “too precious”, you know what I mean? I believe, Chanel as a brand is iconic, due to Coco herself and many pieces she created, however I cannot say that I feel the same about Mr. Lagerfeld. He just has a different expression, which is perfectly fine, yet not true to the Chanel mode, if you ask me. One thing he is good at though, is creating beautiful settings for his shows, gotta give him that credit. 🙂
    check out my beloved bag here: http://beinglorious.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/get-the-point/
    xoxo//ida>boussole

Leave a Reply

