Diary of a Fashion Intern – week 1

This week I started interning with the fashion team at Now magazine, so I’ve decided to keep a little blog diary of what I’ve been up to. I’ve got to travel in everyday from Maidstone to London so I’ve got my travel card (my travel lifeline!) and on the first day I got my IPC Media ID so I can get around the building. I’m working in the Blue Fin building which is very slick and has some awesome views over the London skyline.

image 

image  

On my first day I was introduced to the Fashion Cupboard which is basically a large wardrobe filled with clothes, shoes and accesssories that are called in from various brands – mainly High Street and online, for photoshoots. I was working with two lovely girls Lauren and Billie. The fashion team were going off to New York to do several shoots and they had picked all of the items they wanted to use so it was our job to send back all the items which weren’t picked.

There were so many items that needed to be sorted into brands, accounted for and bagged up to be sent back to the brands by courier. Monday was a busy day trying to clear the main bulk and getting to grips with what I needed to do. It was really interesting learning what goes on but very tiring too. Your constantly moving, sorting the items and bagging them up that it’s almost like a work out, so after four weeks I should be pretty toned!

These pictures were after we had actually cleared most of the bulk and tidied up:

image

image

image

One of the perks of working in the Fashion Cupboard is that you get to see all of the new items that are going to be in the stores or online for Autumn / Winter so you can start planning what you want to buy. I fell in love with several shoes:

image 

These Ravel ankle boots reminded me in particular of the Glitter Miu Miu boots from last season – at a fraction of the price of course! New Look have some great heels coming out for Autumn / Winter too, really cute ankle boots and heeled shoes in interesting materials and studded detailing: 

image image

Tuesday was spent clearing the majority of the rest of the room, I settled in with a tea and you kind of make an island on the floor with your dockets, clothes, bags, stapler and highlighter and get the process going. I’m now a lot more familiar with the smaller brands and you learn which PR agencies look after which brands.

Other pieces which are going to be in next season include: dogtooth, check/plaid, military, oriental prints, leather and lace detailing.

Tuesday was also my birthday so after finishing at Now I went home and had a lovely evening where my boyfriend met me at the train station with flowers and I got loads of lovely presents!

image image

image image image

On Wednesday we were left with the dregs of the returns, items left with with no tags, labels or docketts to match them to any brands, will have to wait for them to be chased up. Laurie (who is so lovely) had done a photoshoot with Amanda from Cover Drive and needed the clothes and shoes sent back. Lots of  bright coloured and sequined items – some great pieces from H&M, Forever 21 and Daisy Street. Shoud have some great shoot pictures.

Solange Stud Heel Shoe Boot in Black PU

I love the chunky platform boots with studs, not sure how easily you can walk in them tho! We went to M&S with Fashion Editor Bonnie to pick up lunch for a team at a photoshoot that was going on and arranged it to be taken over to the studio. Also delivered some bags to the photographer that shoots the individual fashion items that are featured in Now magazine.

Thursday was spent sorting out these gorgeous rings plus a lot more cocktails rings that had been called in for shoots and finding where to return them. I loved the crystal detailed animal rings so kitsch and cute!

image

image

image

image

image

In the afternoon I transcribed an interview that Alison Tay the Style Editor had done with Jessica Wright from TOWIE, it was really interesting to hear the interview first hand as it gives you an insight to how the interviews which feature in the magazine are put together.

On Friday there were a few loose ends to deal with, the odd return and the rest of the rings. We tidied up all of the lookbooks and sorted them alphabetically just so it’s easier for the fashion team to find stuff. We also tidied up the fashion cupboard so it’s ready for when the team gets back from New York next week. As it was Billie’s last day we went out for lunch. I had this homemade lemonade that you get in an iced  jam jar with a shot of passion fruit, you have to pour in the passion fruit and shake it up was really nice!

image image

image image

In the afternoon I was helping out Charmain (also so lovely) the Beauty Director looking for a particular beauty ‘look’ from the catwalk shows to go on a beauty spread. This meant going through lots and lots of pictures to find the right look but was really interesting. After choosing a few options they were sent to the Art Direction team who chose some to go in the magazine. 

Then, we all went through the look books looking for particular items that Alison need for a fashion feature, she chose which ones she wanted and we called in some pictures to be used in the magazine.

At the end of my first week I know that this is definitely what I want to do, I’ve learned a lot so far and realise how much work goes into to creating the content for a magazine. Can’t wait for week 2! XOXO

3 thoughts on “Diary of a Fashion Intern – week 1

Leave a Reply

