Diary of a Fashion Intern – Week 2

Week two of interning at NOW magazine has allowed me more insight into what goes on behind the scenes and has been very interesting. At the begining of the week I was doing lots of ad hoc activities including making runs to the photographer who shoots the still life images for NOW, updating the guard books that hold tear sheets of all the fashion & beauty pages from each issue, keeping the fashion cupboard tidy and making tea runs!

image image

I also assisted the Style Editor with an edit of her recent photoshoot and helped update the credits. I love seeing how the shoots are puts together and the finished result, it reminds me of photoshoots I put together at University for my Fashion Promotions degree.

On Tueday the fashion team were meeting with New Look for a possible advertising deal  so me and the other intern Lauren went through every issue from this year making a list of how many times New Look had featured in the magazine particularly with fashion shoots. We then had to go through and put together a mini version of the issues with the fashion pages showing where all of the New Look items were featured. It was a long task but great to see how all the fashion trends have developed through the year, One of things I love about NOW is that the fashion is all High Street or online, it’s affordable and the looks are attainable.

On Wednesday we received the suitcases of clothes back from the photo shoots in New York so I unpacked all of the clothes putting them into brands preparing to send them back. There were a lot of clothes, shoes, bags and accessories and I saw loads that I wanted to take home with me! Here’s a sneak peek into some great Autumn trends:

image image

Firstly I love these coats! The cute pink one with the bow detailing is acvtually from George at Asda at only £30 and the cream, wool coat with the fur collar is £89 from Dorothy Perkins and I’m going to get this as my main coat for this Winter.

image image

 image

These super cute items are all from Forever 21 and were used in the 1960’s themed shoot, I love these patterned heels which are only £19.75 each and the red geometric print dress and jacket look great together with the brooch from Accessorize at £10.

image image image

I love these River Island heels so much, the grey and black lace looks so chic! The geometric print pumps are really cute and the toes are embellished with jewel stones. These two embellished clutches are from New Look and will be perfect to accessorize with on a night out.

image

image image image

All of these black studded shoes are from Next, I really like them as I just love everything with studs at the moment and I think Next is actually on trend with their garments and accessories for the season. I was surprised as I never really go to Next for clothes, but I may have to take a peek from now on.

image image

These are some shots of when we were unpacking the clothes from the shoot, we had four suitcases to do which wasn’t too bad.

image image

This is the beauty end of the fashion cupboard which me and Lauren spent some time tidying going through all the products and putting them in order as you can see it now looks very tidy. It was really good to see all the new make up and skin care products which are coming out.

image

This is the fashion cupboard once everything was unpacked and put into their separate brands – so organised!

image

These handbags are from House of Fraser and I had to take them to the photographers, I took a picture as I immediately fell in love with them. The colours, prints, style and embellishments are so dainty and pretty.

image

These are some sunglasses that were used in the 1960’s shoot, I love big round sunglasses and think they’re very glamourous – they are from Jeepers Peepers and retail at £16 – you can get them from ASOS for £14 – I know as I ordered them!

image

This is me in the sunglasses – yes that is quite a pout I have going on there! At the end of the week me and Lauren had to contact all of the brands that had supplied items for the shoots and get prices for all  remaining items. Then we spent a lot of time typing up all of the credits and stockists for the items usd in each shoot. We got to see some of the images of the shoots and they do look amazing! My favourites are the 1960’s and the Oriental shoots. It’s great to see how the clothes are styled and how different they look when put together with different items.

I know I definitely want to work on a magazine and am looking for any entry level opportunities, so if anyone knows of any – let me know! Looking forward to week three! XOXO

2 thoughts on “Diary of a Fashion Intern – Week 2

  1. This is very attention-grabbing, You’re an overly professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in search of extra of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

