Vintage Military Chic

I knew military was going to be huge for Autumn / Winter 2012 and I really wanted a statement jacket so I went on a shopping mission to find the perfect one. I found that all the ones I liked in Topshop and Urban Outfitters were particularly expensive so I decided to go to my local Army surplus store and boom a whole room full of actual army jackets at bargain prices. I found one which was vintage from the 80’s, size small and it has a cord round the middle like a parka so I could fit it to my size. In order to make it a bit more 2012 I ordered some spike studs from Ebay and got customizing, here’s the jacket:

image

image

image

image

image

image

I fixed the studs on the lapels, pockets and collar to add detail and style. I love the look of the jacket with the combination of camo print and studs. I also love that my military jacket is vintage and with the customised studs an original, I won’t see anyone else on the High Street with the same jacket and it has that extra bit of style. Instead of paying £48 for the Urban Outfitters carbon copy I paid £20 for an actual military jacket and a vintage original. What do you think new or vintage? XOXO

3 thoughts on “Vintage Military Chic

Leave a Reply

