Exciting news – I’m pregnant!!!

Me and my fiancée Jay are very excited to announce that we are expecting a baby in late August. It’s been such a hard secret to keep but I didn’t want to mention anything on the blog until we’d got through the first trimester and now I hope to keep a weekly diary of my pregnancy on the blog until Baby Douglas arrives.

20140223-175106.jpg

We couldn’t be happier to be starting our own little family and I thought it would be a nice idea to keep track of my pregnancy and share my experiences so when baby arrives it won’t all have been a mad blur and I can look back over the journey.

So to start off I’ll cover the first 12 weeks in this post and carry on week by week going forward- I hope you’ll follow our journey and feel free to leave me any tips or recommendations. If you’re pregnant too please send me the link to your blog so I can follow how you’re getting on.

How far along?

12 weeks

Total weight gain?

Not sure yet as I don’t generally weigh myself all of the time but I suppose now I should really keep track. My tummy has definitely grown so I must have put on something.

Maternity Clothes?

I haven’t bought anything yet but some of my skinny jeans are getting very tight and I have to undo the top button! Luckily I wear a lot of long tops which hides this. I should probably start looking at getting some stretchy waist trousers soon. I’ve had a sneaky look online at some clothes and so far I’m not overly impressed so it will be interesting to see what’s available.

Stretch marks?

No stretch marks yet – touch wood! As soon as I found out I was pregnant I bought some Palmers cocoa butter cream for stretch marks which smells amazing and hopefully will keep me all smooth and blemish free but I’ll keep you updated.

Sleep or no sleep?

Nothing could have prepared me for how overwhelmingly tired being pregnant makes you. It’s a kind of tired that I’ve never experienced before and I just feel exhausted all of the time. At work it’s been so hard especially with keeping my pregnancy a secret – I get to about 2pm and just want to curl up under my desk and go to sleep. I’ve always been partial to a nap so I’ve been having little naps when I get home and at weekends in the afternoon.

More recently I’ve had problems with waking up in the middle of the night feeling generally uncomfortable, needing to wee more and also hungry. I then struggle to get back to sleep and have to get up and go to work – yuck!

I’ve been told that the tiredness subsides after the first trimester so I’m looking forward to this and hopefully getting some energy back.

Best Moment this week?

I think watching my tummy slowly getting bigger is really comforting as in the first 12 weeks you have all these symptoms but feel you have nothing to show for it. Seeing my tummy grow be it only slightly makes it all feel real and exciting.

Also last weekend we went to Dorset for a family get together and announced our exciting news to my family which was lovely as everyone was so happy for us.

Miss anything?

Yes I really really miss dippy eggs and soldiers! It’s my go to food when I feel ill or sick and not being able to have it is very frustrating. Also I’m a big brie fan and can’t have any brie or camembert :-(. Going without alcohol hasn’t been too bad but there has been the odd moment where I fancy a glass of wine but it passes quite quickly.

I’ve also had to reduce my caffeine intake and as an avid tea drinker this means I’ve had to switch to decaffeinated – I’m just so thankful that Yorkshire Tea do a decaffeinated tea bag.

Any Movement?

I’ve not had any movement yet as I think it’s a little early although I can feel lots of sensations, aches and uncomfortable feelings in my tummy with everything expanding and moving. I can’t wait to feel Baby Douglas kick for the first time!

Food Cravings?

So far I just seem to think of food and then really want to eat it, I’ve had a lot of fruit, chicken and avocado sandwiches from Pret a Manger are amazing, Rice Krispie Squares and Wotsits. Random I know and I’ve never really eaten Rice Krispie Squares or Wotsits before and now I can’t get enough of them.

Anything making you feel sick?

Unfortunately I have suffered with morning sickness over the last few weeks although luckily it has only been first thing in the morning and I’ve managed to power through and carry on eating. I have to keep eating snacks throughout the day as if I feel hungry I then feel sick. I’m hoping this will ease moving into the second trimester.

I don’t really like the smell of coffee, seafood and bins all of which make me feel sick. The worst moment was when I was walking to work and suddenly felt I was going to be sick so had to crouch down behind a car and try to discreetly be sick – hideous!

Gender?

Don’t know yet but we’re going to find out at the 20 week scan.

Symptoms?

I feel like I’ve had every symptom you can get for being pregnant and just hoping that they’ll all calm down now I’m heading into the second trimester. The worst ones are probably tiredness, sickness and these ligament stretching pains.

Belly button in or out?

In

Feeling happy or hormonal?

Despite all of the symptoms I’ve felt really upbeat and happy as I’m just so excited to be pregnant and can’t believe there is a baby growing in my tummy – it’s so amazing. I feel a lot better and more comfortable now we’re able to tell people as keeping the secret was making me a bit anxious and obviously you worry all the way through the first trimester.

Looking forward to?

Next week we have our scan and I’m so excited to see our baby for the first time  – I will blog how it goes.

Bump watch

So far my tummy has started growing only a little but it’s the last few weeks that have really made a difference – that’s to me as I’m used to having a flat stomach no one else has really noticed yet. Here are some pictures from weeks 6 – 12.

20140223-175526.jpg

This is my bump for week 12 – as you can see it looks a lot more pregnant shaped – eek!

20140223-181341.jpg

I hope you enjoyed reading my first trimester pregnancy update and will continue to follow how I get on. Please let me know if you’re pregnant and blogging your progress so I can follow or if you can recommend any great blogs or websites.  XOXO

8 thoughts on “Exciting news – I’m pregnant!!!

Leave a Reply

