Pregnancy update: Weeks 19 & 20 and our scan

Hi Guys I’m now 20 weeks pregnant and thought I’d do a combined post to include weeks 19 & 20 and our 20 week scan where we finally found out Bumphrey’s gender. So here’s the latest . . .

20140410-165113.jpg

How far along?

20 weeks 🙂

Total weight gain?

I obviously hadn’t been paying attention to my weight because it appears I’ve actually gained about a stone :-/ – I was quite shocked but apparently it’s normal so all good.

Maternity Clothes?

I’m still trying to get as much wear as possible out of my normal clothes although mainly wearing elastic waist trousers and stretchy or loose fitting tops – I’m so glam right now!

Stretch marks?

Still no stretch marks – hooray.

Sleep or no sleep?

I’m still sleeping well although I do wake up early even on my days off – I think it’s getting me ready for when baby arrives.

Best Moment this week?

Obviously our 20 week scan was the best moment this week but I’ll cover that later!

Another great moment in the last week was mine and Jay’s seven year anniversary, we went to London to see Jersey Boys and went out for dinner which was lovely!

20140410-165209.jpg

Miss anything?

I’m generally missing all the food I can’t eat but I’m now halfway through so its not for much longer and it’ll be worth it.

Any Movement?

Yes each week I’m feeling more and more stronger movements like baby is wriggling about, I find it really comforting and I’m still waiting for a proper kick.

Food Cravings?

I’m really into mango still and other fruit too just trying to be healthy, I still have a sweet tooth though.

Anything making you feel sick?

No – I’ve actually been feeling really good almost back to normal.

Gender & 20 week scan

So this week we had our 20 week scan and although I’d been looking forward to this moment for weeks I felt really anxious to make sure that everything was okay with baby. It took a lot longer than our first scan as they zoom in on all of baby’s organs and take pictures and measure them but everything was looking great and baby is progressing as normal.

We asked the sonographer to tell us whether baby was a boy or girl and they managed to get a good view between baby’s legs and she confirmed that we are expecting a . . .

20140410-165226.jpg

I had a feeling all along that baby was a boy so I was happy that my instincts were right although we didn’t mind either way. So as you can tell from the picture we went shopping after the scan to pick up some little boy things – I love baby shopping so much!!!

20140410-165323.jpg

Baby was in an awkward position so it was difficult to get a really clear picture of him, I just wanted to share this picture as you can see his little hands and it looks like he’s saluting – so cute!

Symptoms?

Tiredness has still improved during the day but generally feel quite tired by the evening.

Backache is still coming and going depending on what I’m doing.

My skin is starting to improve – fingers crossed.

I’ve had quite a few moments where I’ve been feeling light headed and faint, normally if I stand up too fast or have been standing for a long time.

I’ve also had some leg cramps in the middle of the night which have been horrific so I’m hoping some leg exercises will help.

Belly button in or out?

In

Feeling happy or hormonal?

Feeling very happy.

Looking forward to?

I feel really content now we know that everything is okay with baby and we know that we are having a little baby boy, I already feel closer to him and just can’t wait to meet him. I’m really enjoying that we can properly shop for him now and looking forward to getting the room ready eeek it’s all so exciting!

Bump watch

 Bump is still slowly growing each week but is still quite in proportion with my figure, from the front in the first picture you can’t even really tell I’m pregnant – but then I stand sideways! 🙂 here’s bumphrey for week 20 . . .

20140410-191121.jpg 20140410-191153.jpg 20140410-191207.jpg

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my pregnancy update and 20 week scan story, if anything I just feel more excited and happy than ever and overjoyed that we are having a beautiful baby boy.

XOXO

One thought on “Pregnancy update: Weeks 19 & 20 and our scan

  1. Another boy! I feel this is just the season for boys. I am having a boy and all my pregnant friends are having boys! That is okay though. The one thing I was taught to help with leg cramps is to drink water right before bed (yes you will get up to pee in the middle of the night) and make sure you never point your toes outward. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

